Aircraft Insurance: Am I covered if I fly abroad?

You can choose one of three geographical areas within which your aircraft insurance policy will provide cover:

  • Home based: Cover is only in force within the home base country of the aircraft.
  • Europe Zone 1: Includes all European Union member states plus Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City and transit Airspace between these countries, principalities and territories.
  • Europe Zone 2 Plus Selected States: As Europe Zone 1 plus Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan (excluding Ngorno-Karabakh), Belarus, Bosnia And Herzegovina, Egypt, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Lebanon, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Russia,(West of 60 degrees East but excluding Chechnya and Ingushetia), Serbia (excluding Kosovo), Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, and transit Airspace between these countries, principalities and territories.

In addition, coverage is included under Europe Zone 1 & 2 for flying over any excluded territory, where the flight is within an internationally recognised air corridor and is performed in accordance with ICAO recommendations. However coverage is excluded for any flight into any country where such operation of aircraft is in breach of United Nations Sanctions

Note that for the purposes of the above geographical area definitions the Channel Isles and the Isle of Man are seen as part of the United Kingdom.

It may be possible to extend your aviation insurance cover to fly outside the policy's geographical limits, subject to agreement from the underwriters.

Aeroplane Insurance
  • Tailor your cover to your needs
  • Up to 20% No Claim Discount
Helicopter Insurance
  • Wide range of cover options
  • Introductory discount available
  • Extensive FAQs
  • Automated pop-up tips
  • On-demand help pop-ups